The National Commission for Colleges of Education was established by Decree (now Act) 13 of 17th January, 1989 (Amended Act 12 of 1993) as a completion of tripod of excellence in the supervision of higher education in the country. The establishment of the commission was a resultant effect of the utmost importance accorded to quality teacher education by the Federal Government of Nigeria. Since inception, the Commission has continuously pursued goals of quality assurance in teacher education. The pride of the commission is based on the seminal philosophy in the National Policy on Education (NAPE) which states that “no education can rise above the quality of its teachers.

Our Vision:

To be a Centre of Excellence where highly qualified, competent and motivated, Science, Vocational and Technical teachers are produced for the Nigeria Basic Education Levels”.

Our Mission:

To produce well trained, disciplined and motivated Teachers.

The Federal College which was formerly known as National Technical Teachers College was established in the year 1977.  The mandate of the college since its inception was producing technical, vocational and science teachers for primary and secondary schools in the Country.

It started on a temporary site in the former Gombe Crafts School, under the leadership of a Principal, and started moving to its permanent site in 1989 and finally relocated to the permanent site in 1996.

The College was then under the direct supervision of the Federal Ministry of Education until when the Federal College of Education Establishment Decree No. 4 of 21st March, 1986 was promulgated.  This gave the college autonomy with a new name “Federal College of Education (Technical), Gombe”. The College is situated along Ashaka road Gombe on a land area covering about 325.92 Hectres on a latitude 10.3151, longitude:11.14826. The College has graduated 14,000 NCE graduates with a yearly average of 279 graduates.

The College since 1977 had eight (8) Provosts as follows.

  1. Mr. J.E. Essien (1st Principal)                          1977 – 1987
  2. Dr. I. A. Alabura (Provost)                               1987 – 1991
  3. Chief E.S. Okonkwo (Acting Provost)             1991 – 1992
  4. Engr. B.G. Tijani (Provost)                                1992 – 2000
  5. Dr. D.P. Banu (Provost)                                    2000 – 2008
  6. Engr. M. M. Gero (ag. Provost)                       2008 – 2010
  7. Dr. A. G. Abbas (Provost)                               2010 – 2018

 Dr. Ali Adamu (Provost)                                    2018 – to Date

The operation of full autonomy was effected in 1990 when the 1st Governing Council was appointed by the Federal Government (The Proprietor) on the 1st August, 1990.  The present Council which is the fourth, has ten members (four appointed by Government, two representatives of the College Academic Board, one representative of the Federal Ministry of Education, one representative of the National Commission for Colleges of Education, the College Provost and the College Registrar who serve as member and Secretary to the Council). The Council has committees that assist her in carrying out its functions.

These committees are:

(1) The Finance & General Purpose Committee (F&GPC)
(2) Senior Staff Appointments & Promotions Committee (SSAPC).
The Council may from time to time also constitute ad-hoc Committees as the need may arise.

Academic Programmes:

The College prepares students to acquire National Certificate in Education (NCE). The academic programe is normally for three years, at the end of which if a student satisfy the stipulated academic requirements would be awarded the Nigeria Certificate in Education(NCE) but students with problems in one way or the other are given another two years’ grace period within which to clear the problems.

The college is currently made up of six schools namely;

1. School of education
2. School of vocational Education
3. School of Business Education
4. School of Technical Education
5. School of Science Education
6. School of Primary Education Studies

Each School is further divided into departments running different programmes of study.

School of Education:

a. Department of Educational Foundation and Management
b. Department of Curriculum and Instructional Technology
c. Department of General Studies
d. Department of Psychology/Guidance Counselling
e. Department of Primary Education Studies
School of Vocational Education:
a. Department of Home Economics
b. Department of General Agriculture

School of Business Education:

a. Department of Accounting
b. Department of Secretarial Studies

School of Technical Education:

a. Department of Woodwork Technology
b. Department of Electrical/Electronic Technology
c. Department of Building Technology
d. Department of Automobile Technology
e. Department of Metalwork Technology

School of Science Education:

a. Department of Biology
b. Department of Chemistry
c. Department of Computer Science
d. Department of Mathematics
e. Department of Physics
f. Department of Integrated Science

The College was charged with the responsibility of providing full-time courses in the sciences, vocational education, arts and social sciences as well as the professional preparation of teachers for the award of NCE. It was expected to organize workshops, seminars, conferences and in service courses to up-date and widen the academic and professional knowledge of practicing teachers. The college was also expected to engage in research and the application of theoretical knowledge to concrete situations for the overall development of the country.